My Information

Miss Laura Tutor

 

User Type: Tutor  Verified
Name:

Miss Laura

Member Since: 06/03/2017
Last Login: 06/03/2017
Location: church stretton, Shropshire, United Kingdom
Post Code: SY6
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates: £20.00 per hour

About Laura

I am a compassionate and energetic tutor with specialist knowledge and experience in teaching Art as well as English as a Second language and also literacy and numeracy to Young learners. I am highly creative person who brings energy and passion to my work. 

I am trained with a masters degree in all fine art areas such as painting, photography, moving image and 3d mediums as well as history of art. My own artistic practice is primarily concerned contemporary performance, film and video installation, and I am skilled in all aspects of moving image production and post production, and also embrace mediums such as drawing, painting and photography. 

I am a supportive, responsive and adaptable teacher with experience teaching several age groups and within various educational contexts. I have extensive experience working with younger children as a personal tutor and leading art lessons and workshops.

Availability: anytime

Willing to travel: 20 miles

Tutoring Experience:

I have been a visiting lecturer at Leeds University Fine Art department in 2017, working with individual students to further their artistic development and study. I worked as a teaching artist in The Children's Museum of Art (CMA) New York in 2016, my role was to design and deliver projects and activities for the Open Studio and gallery education program— a self-directed fine art studio at CMA. 

Additionally I lead workshops and after school lessons for children from ages 5-16, across fine art mediums and art history. In 2016 I worked for Atlas Language School, Dublin Ireland. As a ESL Teacher, on the Junior Program for Atlas Language School’s 2-month intensive summer program. 

I taught English language classes at intermediate and advanced level to students aged 11-18. My role as a private tutor involved tutoring subjects English and Maths to a 7 year old boy who was transitioning to the UK education system. I prepared him for his UK 7+ entry examinations. In Aug - Oct 2012 I worked at the Tate Britain Gallery, London UK. 

I was a workshop Leader —where I co-devised and delivered a performance and video art workshop for young children and families as part of a programme of participatory art works that engaged visitors in the gallery space. In Oct - Dec 2012 I worked at the IKON Gallery, Birmingham, UK. I was a workshop leader —where I designed and lead a program on performance and mediation with 12-25 year olds in partnership with the IKON Gallery Education Department. 

The project culminated in a live performance with students, presented at the Voice and the Lens Festival, IKON Gallery, UK. Summer 2011,12 &13 I worked on the Architecture Summer Program, NYC. I was Adjunct Professor for Chulalongkorn University. 

I co-designed and taught the syllabus for the credited summer program ‘Psycho-geographies’ a three-year project developed and taught in conjunction with Professor Connelly La Mar and the Yale School of Architecture in NY, USA. In May - Aug 2010 I worked at Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok Thailand as Adjunct Professor of Drawing, int he Summer Program. 

I specialised in teaching drawing and creative process at the International Design and Architecture (INDA) Summer Program to forthcoming students to the BA Architecture course. In 2009-10 I worked at Go International, Language School, Thailand as a ESL Teacher.

I taught students aged 7-11 English language, through fun and interactive workshops and lessons. I prepared all lesson materials that included a dynamic range of learning styles and related teaching aids and mediums. Jan 2008 - 2009, I was artist in residence at Shrewsbury International School Bangkok, Thailand I was Artist In Residence in the art department at Shrewsbury International School, Bangkok, working with students on individual on their projects for GCSE and in the sixth form. 

I also designed and taught several special classes across department projects with class teachers, which resulted in exhibitions and events with students of various ages, from primary to sixth form.

Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: Yes  Un-Verified
Has References: Yes
Will Tutor Online: Yes
My Photo
Laura