My Information

Mrs. Emelia Tutor

 

User Type: Tutor  Verified
Name:

Mrs. Emelia

Member Since: 29/10/2015
Last Login: 25/02/2017
Location: Manor Park, London, United Kingdom
Post Code: E12
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates range from: £25.00 to £30.00 per hour

  • Adult Learner: £30.00 per hour
  • GCSE: £30.00 per hour
  • Mentor: £30.00 per hour
  • Teacher: £30.00 per hour

  • View All Basic Skills Tutors
About Emelia

With 13 years teaching experience and up to 25 years’ experience of working with children and young people, I am experienced in working with pupils who have Special needs, particularly MLD, dyslexia, ADHD, SEMH and moderate autism. Over the years I have tutored pupils in English (GCSE, Adult Literacy) and Biology (GCSE), Study Skills, Behaviour Support and have mentored numerous individuals with regard to improving, attitude and life goals. Being a skilled SEN teacher I have worked on the development, delivery and facilitation of curricula for pupils experiencing moderate learning difficulties, able to write schemes of work and monitor progress.

I have taught pupils for the last 7 years from Yr 7 to 11 with MLD, SLCN, mild to moderate autism and some EAL pupils working between P levels up to level 5 in English and Literacy with class sizes ranging between 1 and 6 pupils. I have worked with teachers to accommodate learners who have difficulties in lessons, hence I have a wealth of knowledge in working with teachers in schools. Being a form tutor for more than 6 years has developed my ability to support pupils with advice and guidance and to offer mediation and conflict resolution as well as encourage pupils to be as rounded as possible. My key qualities lie in my ability to be creative, enthusiastic and flexible – with an emphasis on having balance.

I specialise in working with people at their level with a view to helping them see that they can continue to achieve their potential– regardless of their starting point and even after our time together has ended. With the skills package acquired along the way, achievement becomes second nature.

The ethos I live by is that pupils learn at an accelerated rate when they feel they are valued and therefore building good relationships with pupils is vital for success. To that end, I love reading and thoroughly enjoy playing Scrabble, Boggle, Worlds Biggest Picture Cross, eating out, watching films and bowling and Nordic walking.

Availability: Mon to Fri 9am to 3pm Saturday 9am to 11am.

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Tutoring Experience:

With over 13 years experience as a teacher in Biology and English and a passion to tailor work specifically for individuals. I can provide challenge, pace and enthusiasm which is contagious to keep students interested and motivated. I have experience in GCSE English and Biology, Adult Literacy, Mentoring and Study Skills

Qualification
  • University of East London (UEL) (2012)- Emotional Factors in Learning and Teaching MA Single Honours from the University of East London (UEL). (Grade: Pass) Verified

  • Department of Education (2001)- Science QTS QTS from the Department of Education. (Grade: Distinction) Verified

  • Goldsmiths, University of London (2000)- Science PGCE Single Honours from the Goldsmiths, University of London. (Grade: Pass) Verified

  • Queen Mary, University of London (1996)- Microbiology and Molecular Biology BSc Major/Minor Honours from the Queen Mary, University of London. (Grade: 2:2) Verified

My Testimonials
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: Hazel
Emelia has provided me with support with structuring work and editing. She has informed me about possible strategies for time management and setting achievable targets. Dyslexia Support Emelia's support and encouragement has raised my self esteem and helped me manage my course work.
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: Monica
I consider myself to be fortunate as I was blessed with the opportunity of having Ms Aimey in my life for several years, she truly changed me as a person, and I am the woman that I am today because of her. Emelia has her own unique way of teaching that I had never experienced prior to meeting her, but her manner offers the best possible results. This is evident because before having Ms Aimey as a tutor my grades were atrocious, I was receiving E's and U's in History, D's in Spanish, U in R.E, D in English as many more bad grades within just the first year of meeting her my grades improved dramatically. By the end of year 11 I got a B in History, A in Spanish, B in R.E and a B in English and many other great grades. I owe my success in school all to Emelia, for me she done more than what a teacher was required to do, she helped and supported me in ways that are inexplainable. Her work ethic is out of this world, and I believed it rubbed of on me. If in life I am to be half the woman that Emelia is I will consider myself lucky. She is unlike any teacher I have ever met, her spirit is that of an angel.
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: Moesha
Emelia has been my mentor for many years her perseverance and attention to detail has shaped me to be the individual I am today and without Emelia's support during our one to one sessions I wouldn't be in my current position. Emelias determination resulted in a significant rise academically, her life skills sessions taught me time management so my work was always completed on time to the best of my ability which is a vital when transitioning from secondary school to college or even throughout life. In comparison to the person I was then to perceptions and attitude I have now I would without a doubt recommend Emelia's expertise to anyone as I was a very difficult character to work with and procrastination was my weakness but with Emelia's work and dedication I successfully completed my studies and now currently work for the financial industry.
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: Paula
Emelia is a conscientious and empathetic professional. She taught my child who has a diagnosis of Autism, Diabetes and Epilepsy in a mainstream Secondary school setting for two years. She has the ability to work within a differentiated curriculum, motivate, engage and provide feedback for the student and their family.
Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: Yes  Verified
Has References: Yes
Will Tutor Online: Yes
My Photo
Emelia
Emelia