My Information

Miss Simranjit Tutor

 

User Type: Tutor  Verified
Name:

Miss Simranjit

Member Since: 04/01/2018
Last Login: 11/03/2018
Location: MARLOW, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Post Code: SL7
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates range from: £30.00 to £40.00 per hour

  • Adult Learner: £30.00 per hour
  • GCSE: £40.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 3: £35.00 per hour
  • Teacher: £40.00 per hour

  • View All Maths Tutors
About Simranjit

I am a 31 year old female qualified teacher. I qualified from the University of Brighton in 2009 with a 2:1 in secondary mathematics teaching. I also qualified as a SENCO (Special Educational Needs Coordinator) from Oxford Brookes University and an ELSA (Emotional Literacy Support Assistant) in 2017. I have undertaken various other training throughout my career as a teacher such as: Makaton, Team Teach, Intensive Interaction, Paediatric First Aid training and my Designated Safeguarding Lead training/refresher.

Availability: I am available weekdays after 13:30 and or on the weekends (some days may require re-scheduling due to commitments already made).

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Tutoring Experience:

I have been a qualified teacher for 8 years and have gained a vast amount of experience and knowledge. I have worked in many different settings: primary, secondary, mixed and all boys, faith and free schools. I have experience as a maths teacher having worked in the secondary phase in an all boys school in Kent and a mixed school in Buckinghamshire. I have taught all ranges from year 7 to year 11 for GCSE and previously tutored students who require to re-take exams in 6th Form or college. My approach to tutoring would be very similar to my style of teaching. I do not believe in "spoon feeding" students as I do not believe this will allow for students to develop own personal thinking and problem solving skills. My initial meeting would include carrying out baseline assessments to gauge the level of understanding and competence. From this I would plan lessons and resources for subsequent lessons. Throughout the tutoring period I would assess in order to set challenges wherever possible. I would, wherever possible, request schemes of work from the school the student is teaching at in order to support with pre-teaching as well. I would set homework and expect this to be completed for the following sessions. I am an exceptionally open person and will always ensure the student is comfortable with me as an individual before starting the tutoring. I would encourage an open dialogue to ensure comfort, confidence and openness.

Qualification
  • Buckinghamshire County Council (2017)- Designated Safeguarding Lead refresher training Equivalent of a Level 3 Not degree from the Buckinghamshire County Council.

  • Oxford Brookes University (2017)- National Award for Special Educational Needs Coordination SENCO PGCert from the Oxford Brookes University.

  • Oxford Brookes University (2015)- Education (SENCo) PGCert PGCert from the Oxford Brookes University.

  • University of Brighton (2009)- Education BA Single Honours from the University of Brighton. (Grade: 2:1)

  • University of Brighton (2009)- Education QTS Single Honours from the University of Brighton. (Grade: 2:1)

Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: Yes  Un-Verified
Has References: Yes
Will Tutor Online: No