My Information

Mr. Joseph Tutor

 

User Type: Tutor  Verified
Name:

Mr. Joseph

Member Since: 01/08/2018
Last Login: 18/09/2018
Location: York, Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Post Code: YO24
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates range from: £15.00 to £20.00 per hour

  • A-Level: £20.00 per hour
  • Adult Learner: £15.00 per hour
  • Enthusiast: £20.00 per hour
  • GCSE: £15.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 1: £15.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 2: £15.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 3: £15.00 per hour
  • Primary: £15.00 per hour

  • View All Maths Tutors
About Joseph

Hi - I'm Joseph. I achieved a First Class Masters degree in Physics at the University of York. I love to help people maximise their potential, finding particular joy in helping with maths - I always get pleasure from seeing someone can now do a particular area of maths by themselves after my help. I take great pride in any work I do, always striving to do my best. I really care about helping the student improve and succeed. I believe in patience, friendliness and kindness during tuition, but very much value perseverance of both tutor and student. I like to put great effort and thought into what I'm doing with them. Each individual student will vary on what they need to focus on and in what proportions - background theory, preliminary questions or past papers. Sometimes a topic will have to be approached from different angles to bring about understanding and I believe my patience and creativity in this area help. As well as understanding the actual maths, I also feel it is vital to understand the exam process - where marks are given in exams and what the examiner likes to see. I look through past exams and use my experience of exams from my own studies. I then always try to give the student consistent processes to repeat when it comes to exams so they maximise their number of marks.

Availability: flexible in this regard - willing to tutor on weekdays/weekend and during the day/in the evening.

Willing to travel: 2 miles

Tutoring Experience:

I have volunteered to help several people with their maths studies in my free time and I really found it very satisfying. I recently tutored a family friend's daughter online (video chat) about 2-3 times a week in her final year of her VWO studies (highest level of secondary education in the Netherlands - similar to A-Levels). She has an educational learning difficulty called dyscalculia, a condition which makes it difficult to acquire mathematical skills (along the lines of dyslexia, but for maths). She was a very promising student in Philosophy and History and planned to go to Leiden University but needed to pass Maths in her final year to do so (in the Dutch system a wide range of subjects need to be passed, unlike UK A-Levels). I'm happy to say to she passed and is studying Philosophy at Leiden University in August 2018. I feel this opportunity gave me a great experience of adapting my teaching style to suit someone with learning difficulties. I helped my brother with his GCSE maths. My strength has always been in maths/science subjects whereas my brother found it more difficult, but I worked through different maths topics with him, before helping with example questions and past papers. I also helped a younger student at the University of York whilst I completed my Masters project, in particular helping him with the physics behind the project I was completing, since he would later be doing a similar project around that subject area.

Qualification
  • The University of York (2013)- Physics MPhys Single Honours from the The University of York. (Grade: 1st)

Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: No  
Has References: Yes
Will Tutor Online: No