My Information

Miss Ellen Tutor

 

User Type: Tutor  Verified
Name:

Miss Ellen

Member Since: 18/05/2015
Last Login: 18/12/2019
Location: Eastleigh, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Post Code: SO50
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates range from: £25.00 to £30.00 per hour

  • Adult Learner: £30.00 per hour
  • GCSE: £30.00 per hour

  • View All Piano Tutors
About Ellen

My name is Ellen, I have been working as a piano tutor in and around the Bishopstoke/Eastleigh area for over 7 years. I teach all ages of children and also have adult pupils. I aim to give an all round approach to music, and teach both practical and theory from the start. With learning any instrument the most important part is enjoyment. That is why most of us start learning in the first place! I think it's really important to nurture that, to play music you enjoy and like listening to. If working towards a deadline gives you an incentive to practice and work hard, then grades are probably the way to go. If you are the type of person who doesn't need the added stress of exams, then we can accommodate this and achieve progress in other ways, I personally think it is helpful to set termly and yearly goals for these pupils. Additionally I use videos to create a time-capsule for us to refer back to and see the progress you have made. But whatever you would like to achieve with piano: whether it's to learn classical piano, jazz or something else, I am here to help you enjoy that learning experience. For my younger pupils, I work very closely with the parents. Setting termly goals, helping them sort out a practice routine (and for many I find stickers work a treat!). They will quickly flourish with their new found hobby.

Availability: I am available most evenings for piano lessons, as well as a Saturday Morning. Please feel free to contact me for further details. If you desire online tutoring, please contact me directly.

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Tutoring Experience:

For those who would like to take exams, I have 100% pass rate with practical piano, and for Grade 5 Theory I have an 80% distinction pass rate.

Qualification
  • ABRSM (2017)- Grade 8 ABRSM Piano Practical ABRSM Piano Practical from the ABRSM. (Grade: Pass)

  • ABRSM (2016)- ABRSM Piano Practical ABRSM Piano Practical Grade 7 from the ABRSM. (Grade: Distinction)

  • ABRSM (2014)- Grade 6 ABRSM Piano Practical Piano Practical from the ABRSM. (Grade: Distinction)

  • ABRSM (2012)- Grade 5 ABRSM Theory Theory of Music from the ABRSM.

My Testimonials
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: J
My daughter is 8 years old and has been learning the piano with Ellen now for about 3 years. She has progressed well with a short session each week with Ellen. She really enjoys going to each Lesson, and enjoys the different techniques Ellen uses to teach the material. Ellen is very good at engaging her, I would recommend her without a doubt.
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: S
I have known Ellen Jones for many years personally and now also as my daughters piano teacher. She is a very responsible, trustworthy and mature young lady. I have always been impressed with her excellent communication skills and her manner in dealing with people of all ages and walks of life. She is articulate, friendly and in her style of teaching very innovative which has been a major factor in the progress my daughter has made in her piano lessons which she thoroughly enjoys.
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: S
I have been having lessons with Ellen for six months now. I was a little hesitant at first having lessons with a college student as I am a mature student. However, I need not have worried, as Ellen is completely professional in her approach. I am a complete novice at piano (I learnt to read music when I played an instrument as a teenager) but she has been very patient and encouraging. Her teaching manner is relaxed but respectful and she has definately spurred me on to continue with my piano practise. Thank you Ellen.
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: J
Ellen has been providing piano lessons to my youngest son (11, grade 2 level) for over a year and since the start of this school year has also been teaching my older son (12, grade 3 level) We have been very pleased with the progress the boys have made over this period. They both enjoy the classes. Ellen is very knowledgeable & patient and is adept at facilitating the boys’ effort. Her termly reports are helpful and complete. Her fees are extremely reasonable. Ellen is punctual & professional and I appreciate her conscientiousness. I would be happy to recommend her.
Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: No  
Has References: Yes
Will Tutor Online: Yes