My Information

Mr. Sam Tutor

 

User Type: Tutor  Verified
Name:

Mr. Sam

Member Since: 19/11/2014
Last Login: 25/01/2016
Location: Leeds, Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Post Code: LS3
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates: £25.00 per hour

  • A-Level: £25.00 per hour
  • Adult Learner: £25.00 per hour
  • Degree: £25.00 per hour
  • GCSE: £25.00 per hour

  • View All Maths Tutors
About Sam

For me, teaching is a passion second only to my passion for mathematics. I finished my masters degree in mathematics from Leeds University last year and have since become a full time tutor for school students and university students alike. I have a hands on approach to tutoring and encourage tutees to call or email me if any extra help is required in between lessons. I hold a firm belief that enthusiasm is incredibly beneficial in succeeding in any course, and so I constantly attempt to encourage interest in whatever topic a student is studying.

I am currently using tutoring to fund my research in category theory with applications to topological quantum information, a text book aimed at helping students transition from A level to university mathematics, and a book arguing an Aristotelian realist philosophy of mathematics, with hopes to apply for a PhD in the future. As stated earlier, I have a hands on approach to tutoring. I have no intention of simply supervising a student doing their homework, I wish to aid students in fully understanding their course and apply this understanding consciously to what a given homework question is testing them on.

I recognise that each student is different, and so I attempt to tailor my teaching style to each individual's needs. I believe a main cause of failure in mathematics exams is from students attempting to memorise the material without understanding it, and so my main goal in teaching is to tackle the student's difficulties with the concepts they are studying, which will in turn reinforce their memory without resorting to brute force memorisation.

Availability: I am available all 7 days a week, at any time I'm not giving another lesson.

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Tutoring Experience:

I have a 5 year background of teaching in a wide variety of areas. I have spent the summer of 2014 tutoring GCSE and A level mathematics in London before coming to Leeds. In my third year of university, I held weekly tutorials for a group of ten first year students that spanned over the whole academic year. In my first year, I spent a year teaching piano for ages 7 to 10 and in the year between sixth form and university, I was a full time climbing instructor, instructing for ages ranging from 5 to 75 whilst also teaching guitar on my day and evenings off.

Qualification
  • University of Leeds (2014)- Mathematics MSc Single Honours from the University of Leeds. (Grade: 2:1) Verified

  • University of Leeds (2013)- Mathematics BSc Single Honours from the University of Leeds. (Grade: 1st)

Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: No  
Has References: No
Will Tutor Online: No