My Information

Mrs. Laura Tutor

 

User Type: Tutor  Verified
Name:

Mrs. Laura

Member Since: 09/09/2018
Last Login: 09/09/2018
Location: Edinburgh, Outside UK, United Kingdom
Post Code: EH6
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates range from: £30.00 to £35.00 per hour

  • Primary: £30.00 per hour
  • GCSE: £35.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 3: £35.00 per hour

  • View All English Tutors
About Laura

I’m a 30- year old former primary school teacher. Having taught for 8+ years in schools, I decided to move into tutoring which is a real passion.

Availability: Weekdays from 3pm. Weekends.

Willing to travel: 3 miles

Tutoring Experience:

In my final year in London (2015-16), I tutored every evening and on Saturday mornings. This enabled me to develop many more strategies for making learning both accessible and enjoyable. Tutoring is different from classroom teaching since there is room for greater creativity and the tutor is able to focus all of his or her efforts on one child at a time. My time as a tutor in London led to a real enjoyment in teaching. I mainly taught an able child who was struggling academically at one of the most academically rigorous schools in the city. I learned to be firm, yet sensitive to this child’s needs. I want my tutees to have a good time. Over the year, the child’s confidence and enjoyment of learning grew considerably and he ultimately won an award in recognition of this. Since moving to Scotland, I have decided to focus on tutoring, rather than class teaching. A perfectionist by nature, I like to see the results of what I do. So far, I have taught children age five and up and typically deliver one hourly session at a time. If children are young, I will break a session up into manageable chunks and allow learning breaks. More recently, I branched out into teaching English and English Literature at National 5 level. While in Scotland, I have taught both native speakers of English and non-native speakers. Since I am passionate about the power of reading to enhance a child’s educational attainment, I have recently started to create recommended book lists and to introduce children to unfamiliar authors.

Qualification
  • Goldsmiths, University of London (2013)- PGCE PGCE Postgrad from the Goldsmiths, University of London. (Grade: Distinction)

  • Oxford University (2010)- German BA Joint Honours from the Oxford University. (Grade: 2:1)

  • English Language Centre (formally) York (2009)- CELTA CELTA English Language Teaching Qualification from the English Language Centre (formally) York. (Grade: Pass)

Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: Yes  Un-Verified
Has References: Yes
Will Tutor Online: No
My Photo
Laura