My Information

Miss Lela Tutor

 

User Type: Tutor  Verified
Name:

Miss Lela

Member Since: 02/08/2014
Last Login: 20/01/2016
Location: Tilbury, Essex, United Kingdom
Post Code: RM18
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates: £25.00 per hour

About Lela

I am a qualified teacher with over 8 years’ experience within both Secondary and Further education. I am very competent in my subject areas - maths and science. I have a BSc in Biomedical Science, HND in Applied Biology and am currently doing a distance learning course in Developing thinking in Statistics. My main aim is to make education enjoyable and accessible to all my learners, with an end outcome of achievement for each learner that I teach. I have been tutoring since October 2007, and have many successful learners who have achieved top grades. I currently run a tutoring business in Thurrock, working within local Primary and Secondary schools to help raise attainment levels among disadvantaged learners.

Availability: Mon-Fri evenings (Daytime during School Summer holidays) Weekends

Willing to travel: 8 miles

Tutoring Experience:

I am a qualified lecturer and teacher (QTLS) with 7 years teaching experience teaching : A-level Biology A-Level Chemistry Access to Higher Education (Science) Access to Nursing Studies - physiology and anatomy A-level PE - Sports psychology, Anatomy and physiology, Comparative Studies AS mathematics GCSE Science GCSE maths BTEC applied Science Entry level science Level 1/2 Numeracy, Key Skills and Functional skills ESOL Science within Secondary schools and colleges. I have successfully taught on Bridging maths and science courses in a college whereby young people (14 - 16 year olds) have been out of mainstream education for some time, have prematurely left secondary school, and may be youth offenders. I have also worked as Head of Science in an inner London Pupil Referral Unit with disaffected young people where differentiation and ensuring learners enjoy the subject is vital in order to get them back into mainstream education (for Key Stage three pupils 11-14) or employment training (for Key Stage four pupils 14-16). I have also worked as course manager for BTEC in Applied Science, a learning mentor, a Science teaching assistant and a private tutor. I am very competent in my main subject areas - maths and science. I have a BSc in Biomedical Science, and am currently studying a distance learning module on Developing thinking in Statistics which focuses on the psychology behind thinking in statistical maths. I aim to make teaching the curriculum enjoyable and accessible to all my learners` by catering to their individual needs. In the initial stages I often assess the learner`s needs and the type of learner by using a variety of resources. I also offer online tutoring services via Skype and WizIQ, which is just effective as face-to-face tutoring, with a large number of various resources including Powerpoints, video clips/animations, past exam papers and mark schemes, etc. I have had some parents who were at first reluctant to try online tutoring however were quite pleased once commenced (written feedback available on request). I am currently e-tutoring students in A-level PE: sports psychology, anatomy and physiology, comparative studies, GCSE maths and GCSE Biology. I have also in the past tutored English to a student in India. I work with the learner to aid and complement their studies with an aim for them to achieve and be successful.

Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: Yes  Un-Verified
Has References: Yes
Will Tutor Online: Yes