My Information

Mr. Brian Tutor

 

User Type: Tutor  Verified
Name:

Mr. Brian

Member Since: 30/08/2014
Last Login: 19/09/2017
Location: Otford, Kent, United Kingdom
Post Code: TN14
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates range from: £30.00 to £38.00 per hour

  • Adult Learner: £33.00 per hour
  • GCSE: £33.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 1: £33.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 2: £33.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 3: £33.00 per hour

  • View All Maths Tutors
About Brian

I believe I can teach maths to anyone regardless of their past experience of maths learning. I don't drive so tuition would take part in my home.

Availability: Week days and evenings, not weekends

Willing to travel: 15 miles

Tutoring Experience:

Qualified Maths and IT teacher with 20 years experience of private tuition for GCSE and 11+ maths. I also offer tuition for 11+ and 13+ verbal and non-verbal reasoning and 11+ English.

Qualification
  • The University of Birmingham (1994)- Dip.Ed Dip Ed (Special) Teacher of Visually Impaired from the The University of Birmingham. (Grade: Pass) Verified

  • The Open University (1993)- Computing and Information Technology BA Part Time from the The Open University. (Grade: Pass) Verified

  • Northumbria University (1989)- Mathematics BEd Teacher Training from the Northumbria University. (Grade: Pass) Verified

  • The Open University (1987)- Science BA Science Foundation from the The Open University. (Grade: Pass) Verified

  • The Open University (1986)- Mathematics BA Level 1 from the The Open University. (Grade: Pass) Verified

My Testimonials
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: Alison
Thank you for all the help and input with my son’s GCSE Maths revision over the last few weeks. You are a very kind, helpful teacher who goes all the way and more to help the student gain knowledge in the areas they most need. My son enjoyed every lesson. Thanks again.
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: Mrs R
Brian is an excellent tutor. He understands a child's reticence at asking awkward questions, the ones that hate to be asked. He explains all problems, calmly and patiently and is always reassuring in his manner. This approach is ideal for anyone feeling wobbly about maths - he helps to create confidence in the subject and this of course, always contributes towards future success for his students.
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: Caroline
My son has just taken his 11+ and his confidence in Maths and non-verbal reasoning has come on in leaps and bounds. We are hopeful he will pass, but even if he doesn't, the extra confidence will always be a boost for him.
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: Sue
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN Brian has been providing weekly 11+ tutoring to our 10 year old son since Autumn 2011. Brian has a gentle teaching style that, mixed with a great sense of fun, has engaged Josh to the extent that he has never been reluctant to go to his lesson nor wanted to leave early – that, in itself, is a huge compliment to Brian. Josh’s maths (and confidence in his abilities) have improved considerably since working with Brian and his strategies and skills in relation to the verbal and non-verbal reasoning tests have noticeably progressed. In addition to 1:1 work with Josh, Brian’ knowledge and teaching experience has been very helpful to us in how we can support Josh outside of the lessons through the provision of resources and ideas for practice that are targeted to engage with Josh’s individual preferences for learning. Brian is very flexible in terms of lesson times and making changes when the need arises. For practical reasons we have always sat in the next room and been able to over-hear Josh’s lessons with Brian as they have taken place. As such, we have a very real experience of Brian’s approach and teaching style as well as being able to see how much our son has progressed. We would not hesitate to recommend Brian as a tutor.
Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: Yes  Verified
Has References: Yes
Will Tutor Online: Yes