My Information

Miss Laura Tutor

 

User Type: Tutor  Verified
Name:

Miss Laura

Member Since: 07/06/2019
Last Login: 07/06/2019
Location: Pontypridd, Wales, United Kingdom
Post Code: CF38
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates range from: £0.00 to £25.00 per hour

  • A-Level: £25.00 per hour
  • Adult Learner: £25.00 per hour
  • GCSE: £25.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 1: £25.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 2: £25.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 3: £25.00 per hour
  • Mentor: £25.00 per hour
  • Primary: £25.00 per hour

  • View All English Tutors
  • A-Level: £25.00 per hour
  • Adult Learner: £25.00 per hour
  • Adviser: £25.00 per hour
  • Degree: £0.00 per hour
  • GCSE: £25.00 per hour
  • Mentor: £25.00 per hour

  • View All Psychology Tutors
About Laura

I am an approachable and confident tutor with a passion for helping students to improve their knowledge and develop confidence in the subject. I believe that learning should be a pleasant and enjoyable experience. I try to engage with students and adapt my teaching to their interests and goals. I enjoy working with students to build and develop their confidence within a subject and helping them to prepare for assessments and exams. Throughout my life I have enjoyed education and believe knowledge is the key to success. I am constantly learning new skills and am currently undertaking a PhD. I feel many students are let down by teachers that are uninspiring and lack a passion for their subject which leaves students unengaged and struggling. However, if these students are given an opportunity to discuss their thoughts and ideas in a one to one session they can develop an interest in a subject and see the importance and relevance of a topic. I completed the PGCE in Further Education at the University of Wales, Newport. Since completing the course I have worked as a supply teacher and private tutor. I enjoy private tutoring as it gives me the opportunity to tailor my methods to the individual and focus on an individual as opposed to a large class.

Availability: Days, evenings and weekends

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Tutoring Experience:

Since completing the PGCE qualification I have taught numerous students on a one to one basis. These students have all improved their grades and have gone on to achieve excellent exam results. I have taught in numerous educational settings such as secondary schools, colleges and universities. I have taught Psychology on an Access to Humanities course to classes ranging from age 16 to mature adults. I have also taught on the Welsh Baccalaureate (Foundation and Intermediate) which focuses on key skills and improving general knowledge. While working with various supply agencies I have taught most subjects but prefer to focus on English, Science (including Psychology) and Maths. I have also held one to one sessions within colleges to support struggling students. I currently teach Psychology at university level.

Qualification
  • University of South Wales (formerly University of Glamorgan and University of Wales Newport) (2014)- Psychology MSc Single Honours from the University of South Wales (formerly University of Glamorgan and University of Wales Newport). (Grade: 2:1)

Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: Yes  Un-Verified
Has References: Yes
Will Tutor Online: No