My Information

Mr. George Tutor

 

User Type: Tutor  Verified
Name:

Mr. George

Member Since: 29/10/2015
Last Login: 07/02/2018
Location: Fareham, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Post Code: PO14
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates: £30.00 per hour

About George

MY BACKGROUND My name is George, I'm 23 years old and I live In Titchfield village 2 miles towards Southampton from Fareham Centre. I've been teaching for a few months now and am looking for some more students to take on. I teach beginners classical guitar, as well as beginner to advanced electric and acoustic. I consider myself an accomplished player of many styles including pop, funk, rock, blues, ska, metal, and jazz. I have a deep knowledge of theory, harmony and good technique. So let's get cracking!

I've been playing the guitar for 17 years now. I started off learning classical guitar which I studied up until Trinity Grade 6. I continued playing on my own throughout my school years (Mostly blues, rock and metal) and started my own Ska band at the age of 16: (The Skandalz / Offbeat Offensive) After school I studied a BTEC National Diploma in Guitar at college for which I achieved triple distinction. After College I moved to London to study a 3 year BMUS (HONS) Degree in Popular Music Guitar Performance which I graduated with a 2.1. Last summer I won 1st prize in the Shure Play for LA Competition  and This year I was a finalist in the JamTrackCentral JTC Contest out of 2,221 international competitors (See on YouTube).

I've played with some great musicians including the mega Nile Rodgers himself of Chic and Daft Punk. DRUMS & BASS I have been playing the drums for more than 10 years, and would feel confident passing on some drumming knowledge; I also have a bass guitar and can teach beginner/intermediate bass.

LESSON INFORMATION

I have been teaching some students recently that range from absolute beginner to more advanced. Some students are particular about what they want to learn (for example only U2 songs, or only blues), whereas others prefer to leave it up to me. But I always find out which lessons will keep you interested and enjoying yourself, which I think Is essential in order to improve quickly. I like to keep things fun :)

Generally I will teach songs and riffs from music that you love; but also I can delve into music theory, harmony and general practice philosophies which cannot not help you to improve ;) Contact me with any questions/queries. Thanks so much, George x

Availability: Available most days at all hours, less available Saturdays and Sunday/Monday late afternoons

Willing to travel: Home Only

Tutoring Experience:

A years teaching experience both on Skype and from my home. Good results with my students, they are showing consistent improvements both in their technique and their theory knowledge.

Qualification
  • Tech Music School London (2013)- Popular Music Performance BA Single Honours from the Tech Music School London. (Grade: 2:1)

  • South Downs College (2010)- Music Performance BTec BTec National Diploma from the South Downs College. (Grade: Distinction)

Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: No  
Has References: No
Will Tutor Online: Yes