My Information

Mr. Philip Tutor

 

User Type: Tutor  Verified
Name:

Mr. Philip

Member Since: 26/09/2018
Last Login: 10/10/2018
Location: Newbury, Berkshire, United Kingdom
Post Code: RG14
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates range from: £15.00 to £20.00 per hour

  • A-Level: £20.00 per hour
  • Adult Learner: £15.00 per hour
  • Degree: £20.00 per hour
  • Enthusiast: £15.00 per hour
  • GCSE: £15.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 3: £15.00 per hour
  • Primary: £15.00 per hour

  • View All English Tutors
About Philip

Hello, my name is Philip (please call me Phil!). I graduated from Anglia Ruskin University in 2017 with a first-class undergraduate degree in English Literature. Whilst at Anglia Ruskin, out of the 16 modules I studied, I achieved a first-class grade in 12 of them, and no less than a first in every module in my second and third year. These modules covered a broad spectrum of literature, ranging from Ancient Greek plays to twenty-first century fiction and everything in-between! I have recently completed a masters degree in Contemporary Literature and Culture at Birkbeck, University of London. Following this, I will be preparing to study for a PhD, starting in January 2019. I am available to tutor English Literature at all levels, from primary to undergraduate level. I am also well-equipped at tutoring English language. My particular area of strength is contemporary literature (1945-present day), but I am well-equipped at engaging with all areas of literature. I am a warm, friendly and patient individual and I am able to engage with the subject of English with a variety of approaches. I believe that literature should be student-centred, as it is one of the only subjects that allows a degree of creative freedom, and I will help students to achieve their potential. I live near the centre of Newbury and I am able to travel to anywhere in the town at your convenience. I hope that I can be of service to you and develop interests in what is a very rewarding and exciting subject!

Availability: Monday-Sunday at any time, but Monday-Thursday are best. Any time from 9am-9pm is fine for me, and I am flexible to suit student and/or parent work schedules. I am available for bank holidays, school holidays, and half terms.

Willing to travel: 15 miles

Tutoring Experience:

My teaching experience manifests as a collection of experiences, from seminar discussions, to conference talks. In these spaces, I have actively contributed to academic debates, resulting in learned techniques of engaging with critical material. I also actively took part in the literature society at undergraduate level, preparing talks, arguments and discussions centred around literature, contemporary social dynamics, and sociological issues.

Qualification
  • Birkbeck, University of London (2018)- Contemporary Literature and Culture MA Single Honours from the Birkbeck, University of London.

  • Anglia Ruskin University (2017)- English Literature BA Single Honours from the Anglia Ruskin University. (Grade: 1st)

Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: No  
Has References: No
Will Tutor Online: No