My Information

Mr. Lewis Tutor

 

User Type: Tutor  Verified
Name:

Mr. Lewis

Member Since: 15/05/2015
Last Login: 30/04/2016
Location: London, London, United Kingdom
Post Code: WC1H
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates: £25.00 per hour

  • A-Level: £25.00 per hour
  • Adult Learner: £25.00 per hour
  • Adviser: £25.00 per hour
  • Consultant: £25.00 per hour
  • Enthusiast: £25.00 per hour
  • Expert: £25.00 per hour
  • GCSE: £25.00 per hour
  • Lecturer: £25.00 per hour
  • Mentor: £25.00 per hour
  • Researcher: £25.00 per hour
  • Teacher: £25.00 per hour

  • View All English Tutors
About Lewis

I am a relatable tutor with a specific set of methodological skills and a unique approach to learning and knowledge

Availability: I may work at all hours and days except Saturdays

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Tutoring Experience:

I'm a 27 years-old PhD student in philosophy at Kingston University. Born to a French mother and English father, I was raised in the Paris area until I moved to the UK when I was nineteen. I live and work in central London.

I have a truly interdisciplinary and international background - originally destined to study literature, I chose economics and politics before turning to art history, psychoanalysis, and finally philosophy. I have successfully adapted to different learning environments across the channel.

I started out tutoring by helping French children with their English during the summer. In 2010 I was selected by my department to mentor first-year economics students. As I started working on my PhD in 2012, I began teaching at undergraduate level.

I gave seminars on English Renaissance drama, nineteenth-century literature and adaptation; I marked essays; I took a course called 'Teaching and Learning in Higher Education' that was offered by the Academic Development Centre at Kingston, and incorporated the techniques I learned in my teaching practice - the feedback proved very positive.

I work part-time at the Centre for Freudian Analysis and Research (CFAR) and I have been involved in psychoanalysis and the field of mental health for several years. I have learned that the desire to sabotage oneself is often very strong if mostly unconscious.

While the job of a tutor is certainly not to address that, there must be ways to make learning enjoyable and desirable, so that this drive is kept at bay, if tutoring is to lead to positive results.

Qualification
  • Kingston University (Pursuing)- Philosophy PhD from the Kingston University.

  • University College London (University of London) (2012)- Psychology MSc Single Honours from the University College London (University of London). (Grade: 2:1) Verified

  • The University of Kent (2011)- Economics BA Joint Honours from the The University of Kent. (Grade: 2:1) Verified

Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: Yes  Verified
Has References: Yes
Will Tutor Online: No