My Information

Dr. Karen Tutor

 

User Type: Tutor  Verified
Name:

Dr. Karen

Member Since: 11/02/2020
Last Login: 15/02/2020
Location: Chineham, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Post Code: RG24
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates: £50.00 per hour

  • A-Level: £50.00 per hour
  • Adult Learner: £50.00 per hour
  • GCSE: £50.00 per hour

  • View All Chemistry Tutors
  • Adult Learner: £50.00 per hour
  • GCSE: £50.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 3: £50.00 per hour

  • View All General Science Tutors
  • GCSE: £50.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 3: £50.00 per hour

  • View All Physics Tutors
  • GCSE: £50.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 3: £50.00 per hour

  • View All Biology Tutors
  • GCSE: £50.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 3: £50.00 per hour

  • View All Maths Tutors
About Karen

I've always enjoyed science and finding out how things work and why - but I especially love being able to teach others and share my knowledge and passion with them so they too cannot only see how things work but have the tools to understand why they do as well. I was fascinated about how things were made when I was studying my Chemistry, Maths and Physics A levels and seeing things actually happen with the reactions we undertook and wanted to learn more. So, for my Bachelors Honours Degree I chose Chemistry and studied at the University of Nottingham. In the first year of my Chemistry degree, I also studied the first year degree level Maths, Medicine, Biochemistry and Physics to compliment the Chemistry Bachelors Honours degree, as I really enjoy science. This continued in my second and final years of my degree in Chemistry where I studied the compulsory Physical, Organic and Inorganic Chemistry with the addition of Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Synthesis and Applications, Biochemistry and Astral and Solar Chemistry. It was also compulsory in my second year for continuation into the final year of my course, to complete courses and pass exams in both reading, translating and extracting information from scientific German and complete a Computing project.

Availability: Weekdays, weekday evenings, weekends

Willing to travel: Home Only

Tutoring Experience:

When my niece was preparing for her Science GCSEs, I helped with some Chemistry tuition via the 'phone and after the first session she asked if I could be her Science and Chemistry teacher from now on !! Also, I provide tuition to those who are preparing to take their Common Entrance Exams for 11+, 12+ and 13+. At 11+ they usually take Maths and English. Some require science as well and I tutor the Maths, English and the Sciences (Chemistry, Biology and Physics) for 11+, 12+ and 13+. Entrance exams are usually taken around January, May / June and November each year and form a key requirement for a number of schools where students are transferring to senior school at either of these ages. There was an opportunity within one of the companies I worked at for you to volunteer in your lunch hour to teach reading, writing and maths to those at primary level and I did so, happy to give up my lunch hour on many a week day to spend valuable time helping those who were wanting to learn more and were finding it hard to do so without some one to one focus. I loved seeing how they started to shine with some time and input at their pace. I have been an external examiner and marker for many years for those qualifying in Health and Safety and Occupational Health and tutoring other employees on how to deliver accredited and non-accredited training courses. I have experience of demonstrating science and the practical aspects to undergraduates in Chemistry as well as proof reading many a Postgraduate and Undergraduate thesis and essays. I have tutored for many years to students both within the UK and also abroad in numerous locations (Saudi Arabia, Dubai, Hong Kong, USA, Russia, Channel Islands etc). Many of the overseas students were seeking to attend schools or colleges in the UK and had to take entrance exams for the level / year they were wishing to start their UK education in. All were successful in achieving their first or second choice place. I offer tuition on a one to one basis (face to face or online) for those who are home schooled and also those who attend school but wish additional support with their studies.

Qualification
  • Professional Body - CIEH (2007)- Professional Trainers Certificate Professional Trainers Certificate (Professional) Professional Trainers Certificate from the Professional Body - CIEH. (Grade: 1st)

  • University of Southampton (1994)- Chemistry PhD from the University of Southampton.

  • The University of Nottingham (1990)- Chemistry BSc Single Honours from the The University of Nottingham. (Grade: 2:1)

Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: Yes  Verified
Has References: Yes
Will Tutor Online: Yes
My Photo
Karen