My Information

Miss Anita Tutor

 

User Type: Tutor  Verified
Name:

Miss Anita

Member Since: 22/02/2016
Last Login: 08/03/2016
Location: Orpington, Kent, United Kingdom
Post Code: BR5
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates: £30.00 per hour

  • Adult Learner: £30.00 per hour
  • GCSE: £30.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 1: £30.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 2: £30.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 3: £30.00 per hour

  • View All Maths Tutors
  • Adult Learner: £30.00 per hour
  • Enthusiast: £30.00 per hour
  • GCSE: £30.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 1: £30.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 2: £30.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 3: £30.00 per hour

  • View All English Tutors
About Anita

I am an Oxford graduate and qualified teacher with a current DBS check. I have experience teaching all ages and abilities from 3 years of age upwards. Although I teach in a large secondary school, I continue playing for my own enjoyment with a local orchestra and I sing with a local choir - there's little point teaching music if one doesn't enjoy it and get involved oneself!

Availability: I am available weekdays between 4pm-9pm and Sundays between 9am-1pm. Please contact me to check availability.

Willing to travel: 10 miles

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching piano, violin and theory lessons privately for the last 15 years with extremely high success rates in exams. I have also taught adults who want to play for their own enjoyment and teenagers who need a little extra support preparing performances for their GCSE and A level exams. 

I have taught instrumental/theory lessons in several parts of the country as well as in private and grammar schools and have developed a range of strategies to help any student overcome any difficulty they may have, all the while keeping things fun and engaging. My focus is to make lessons fun so that you will enjoy practicing in-between lessons. 

I use the Alexander technique to support learning correct posture and playing technique so that you can feel comfortable playing your instrument and lessen the risks of injuries such as RSI. I incorporate musical theory throughout as I believe it is vital to be able to confidently read music both for sight-reading and in order to be able to understand the construction of a piece better.

 I also encourage all of my students to sing and to play from ear; thus developing the whole musician.

Qualification
  • Oxford Brookes University (2010)- Music PGCE QTS from the Oxford Brookes University. (Grade: Pass)

  • Oxford University (2009)- Music MA Single Honours from the Oxford University. (Grade: 2:2)

Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: Yes  Un-Verified
Has References: No
Will Tutor Online: No