My Information

Ms. Claire Tutor


User Type: Tutor  Verified

Ms. Claire

Member Since: 10/07/2016
Last Login: 11/07/2016
Location: St Neots, Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Post Code: PE19
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates: £20.00 per hour

Group Lesson
  • Lesson Details: 60 Minutes (Once a Week)
  • Location: Cambridge and St Neots.
  • Lesson cost: £25.00
  • Lesson information: I am happy to conduct group lessons at my house or at the student's house.
About Claire

I have 27 years teaching experience in the classroom, on summer schools, teacher training and one-to-one tuition. I teach Psychology IB and A Level (AQA) at an international sixth form college in Cambridge and I am now at a time in my teaching career where I want to be able to work in a more flexible way and I feel that online tuition is a good way of achieving this. 

As well as teaching Psychology full time I also write for an online IB textbook - kognity, based in Sweden. I have written the Developmental Psychology option for them and I am in the process of completing the Human Relationships option. I will be attending the IB Conference in Barcelona at the invitation of kognity. I will be giving a keynote speech on Flipped Learning and leading a workshop on interactive teaching techniques. 

Every summer for the past four years I have tutored individual IB students at Emmanuel College, Cambridge, giving them guidance on their extended essay. Experience of writing an online textbook means that I am comfortable with the idea of distance learning as well as face-to-face . My experience of teaching in the classroom - both as a subject teacher and a pastoral tutor - means that I find it easy to relate to a range of personalities. 

I am relaxed in the company of young people and I am confident in using humour and a friendly approach to make the sessions enjoyable for everyone. I work in a fast and efficient way - something that is essential when it comes to working full-time and writing and tutoring part-time. I love teaching and I want to be able to embrace a variety of ways in which to deliver Psychology to students.

Availability: I am available 1 evening per week and one day per weekend for face-to-face tuition. Online tuition could be arranged on a more ad-hoc basis.

Willing to travel: 12 miles

Tutoring Experience:

27 years as a classroom teacher and an ongoing summer role as a personal tutor for international IB Psychology students.

  • London Metropolitan University (2010)- Psychology Post Graduate Diploma (conversion degree) Single Honours from the London Metropolitan University. (Grade: 2:1)

My Testimonials
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: Alexander
This is an email that was sent to me on 17 May 2016 by one of my IB students. He had just completed the two year International Baccalaureate in Psychology and he wrote me this expression of his gratitude: Hello Ms. Claire, Words cannot express how thankful I am for what you've done to help me pass my exams and just provide an overall positive impact on my life. This may sound weird at first, but to put things in perspective, my old IB school in America was horrendous this year (I would have been there if it weren't for the surprise move to the UK)! My friends said that they had to finish the entire syllabus in one year and I heard that their teacher wasn't very active and practically did nothing to help. This is why kids don't do very well in their IB at my old school: teachers don't want to help or are overburdened with trying to teach the American syllabus along with the IB simultaneously. Whether it be coincidence, luck or divine intervention, I am so glad that I was able to enter a more competent school. And one of the reasons why the school is better is because of you: you were so willing to deal with us and help us when we needed it, regardless of the difficulty of performing such a feat. So, again, thank you, although I doubt that these words are enough to repay you. Until we meet again, AJ
Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: Yes  Un-Verified
Has References: Yes
Will Tutor Online: Yes