My Information

Mr. Shaun Tutor


User Type: Tutor  Verified

Mr. Shaun

Member Since: 09/04/2015
Last Login: 16/08/2015
Location: Buckingham, Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Post Code: MK18
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates range from: £30.00 to £40.00 per hour

  • A-Level: £30.00 per hour
  • Adult Learner: £30.00 per hour
  • Degree: £30.00 per hour
  • Enthusiast: £30.00 per hour
  • Expert: £30.00 per hour
  • GCSE: £30.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 1: £30.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 2: £30.00 per hour
  • Key Stage 3: £30.00 per hour
  • Primary: £30.00 per hour

  • View All Music Tutors
  • Instructor: £40.00 per hour
Group Lesson
  • Lesson Details: 60 Minutes (Once a Week)
  • Location: Student's Home
  • Lesson cost: £20.00
  • Lesson information: Lessons for a maximum of 3 students covering topics including compositional techniques, listening exam, set works and technical exercises.
  • Lesson Details: 60 Minutes (Once a Week)
  • Location: Student's Home
  • Lesson cost: £15.00
  • Lesson information: 60 minute lesson for a minimum of 2 students and a maximum of 4 students. Covering topics such as set works, listening exam and compositional techniques.
About Shaun

I teach all brass instruments including trumpet, cornet, flugal-horn, tenor horn, french horn, trombone, baritone, euphonium and tuba as well as keyboard and piano. I have a wide range of teaching and playing experience from Brass Bands and Orchestra’s to Brass ensembles and solo playing. I am happy to teach at your home, or in my own home studio depending on your own particular requirements. I am easy going and a fun person to learn with. I am a very patient person and am happy to explain information in different ways - my teaching style is person centred and I firmly believe that when you don't understand something I will need to try a different approach! I understand that you may want to learn at your own pace, and I will always plan lessons to accommodate your needs fully.

Availability: I have availability weekday evenings and on Saturday.

Willing to travel: 15 miles

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring for over 16 years and have had experience in the class room for 11 years and have worked in middle and secondary sectors.

  • Oxford Brookes University (2004)- Secondary Music Teaching PGCE QTS from the Oxford Brookes University. (Grade: Pass)

  • Colchester Institute (2001)- Music MA Music Performance from the Colchester Institute. (Grade: Pass)

  • Colchester Institute (1997)- Music BA Single Honours from the Colchester Institute. (Grade: 2:1)

  • ABRSM (1994)- Tuba Grade 8 Distinction from the ABRSM.

My Testimonials
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: Helen
I would highly recommend Shaun as a music teacher. He is so passionate about music and this really comes across in his teaching style. He helped my daughter with her Music A level and myself taking my Grade 8 Aural. I passed with distinction. He was very friendly, easy to learn from and very patient, often trying different ways of conveying a point if I didn’t understand something. Aural was something I used to dread in the exams but after our lessons I felt really confident. We both learned so much from Shaun that has not only helped us do well in the exams but develop our musicality in general.
Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: Yes  Un-Verified
Has References: Yes
Will Tutor Online: Yes