My Information

Ms. Geri Tutor


User Type: Tutor  Verified

Ms. Geri

Member Since: 04/10/2014
Last Login: 16/12/2015
Location: Barnet, Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Post Code: EN5
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates range from: £25.00 to £35.00 per hour

  • A-Level: £35.00 per hour
  • GCSE: £30.00 per hour
  • Adult Learner: £30.00 per hour

  • View All Spanish Tutors
  • Adult Learner: £25.00 per hour

  • View All EFL Tutors
Group Lesson
  • Lesson Details: 90 Minutes (Once a Week)
  • Location: Barnet
  • Lesson cost: £20.00
  • Lesson information: Beginners/Elementary Spanish `coffee morning` style. Fun classes for those visits to Spain or simply as a new pastime. Groups of between 2 and 5 students. Mid-morning to fit in with the kids at school. Start date/day negotiable. So get a group of friends together and let`s get started!
About Geri

I am a fully qualified teacher with more than 20 years of teaching experience in F.E. colleges, language schools and as a private tutor. For many years I was head of Law and later co-ordinator for Access to H.E. and Pre-Access programmes helping both teenagers and adults achieve success in their goals. More recently I spent eight years working in Spain and Argentina as an EFL teacher and examiner for major companies such as Coca-Cola, Vodafone and IKEA. I am fluent in Spanish and have tutored the subject to assist GCSE candidates, complete beginners and higher level students with their learning needs. As a native English speaker who has gone through the process of learning Spanish, I fully understand the difficulties that can be encountered and will be able to assist you with tips to overcome these challenges. Currently I teach English GCSE at a college as well as tutoring in Spanish and EFL. Whether it is exam skills, grammar, or speaking practice that you require assistance with, you will find that I am professional, friendly and patient. I use a variety of teaching methods and resources to accommodate different learning styles. Usually the classes are in my own home or online but I am willing to travel in some cases. I tutor individuals or small groups of up to five students of a similar level (discounts available). Please get in contact with me for further information or to discuss my availability. I look forward to hearing from you.

Willing to travel: 4 miles

  • University of Cambridge (2006)- CELTA TEFL TEFL from the University of Cambridge.

  • University of Greenwich (2004)- PGCE PGCE PGCE from the University of Greenwich. (Grade: Pass) Verified

  • Middlesex University (1990)- Law BSc Joint Honours from the Middlesex University. (Grade: 2:1)

My Testimonials
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: Antonio
I am Spanish and have been taking English grammar and conversation classes with Geri for the last three and a half years. Even now that I have moved to England we still continue. She suggests useful phrases and vocabulary to help me improve what I want to say and has extra grammar materials prepared when I need them. She is very patient and has assisted me very much to reach my goals. I recommend her.
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: Claire
I had a beginner level of Spanish when I started lessons with Geri. She has helped to build my confidence with my speaking skills and understanding of Spanish grammar. She explains grammar, vocabulary and pronunciation clearly, using examples to help. She is always prepared for lessons and uses materials that are easy to understand and appropriate for my needs. I would highly recommend Geri as a Spanish teacher.
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: Manuel
Es bastante seria impartiendo clases y está muy pendiente de los errores cometidos y de que la pronunciación sea la correcta.
Name of the person who provided this testimonial: Cristina
Geri es una profesora cercana, amable y simpática, cualidades necesarias para que el alumno se sienta a gusto en sus clases y se desenvuelva con más soltura. Crea un ambiente propicio para interrelacionarnos unos con otros. Cualquier duda que surge la resuelve en el momento, y te corrige todo el material de ejercicios que hagas por cuenta ajena; reading,gramática... En definitiva es una profesora perfecta para practicar el speaking, listening ,reading, y gramática en general.
Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: Yes  Un-Verified
Has References: Yes
Will Tutor Online: Yes