My Information

Ms. Thea Tutor


User Type: Tutor  Verified

Ms. Thea

Member Since: 11/05/2016
Last Login: 12/05/2016
Location: Brighton, Sussex, United Kingdom
Post Code: BN2
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates range from: £15.00 to £25.00 per hour

About Thea

Hi I'm an English Literature graduate of the University of Sussex, and I have lots of experience working with children and young people. For the last six years I have been doing part time babysitting, or childcare work for various families. 

These roles vary from helping them with their homework, taking them to the park, making them dinner and reading them bedtime stories. All families I've worked for can trust and depend on me to be on time, care for their children, but discipline them too. Every Thursday I volunteer at S.T Evelina Hospital for Radio Lollipop. 

As a volunteer at this charity, it is my duty to provide therapy for children through play. I enjoy this work because it is diverse; every week is different but it is rewarding too, to see a child in pain smile or giggle from a bed-time story or just by blowing bubbles. This role has taught me to be tactile, and has improved my ability to build rapport. The fact that I commute to London for this every week shows that I am reliable and dedicated. For this project we work in a team to create workshop content for alternative PSHEE classes for young people. 

We work with young people both in groups and 1:2:1 to discuss and educate young people on issues such of sex and relationships, sexual health, mental health and wellbeing, genders and sexualities. 

I love this work because I am committed to promoting Equality and Diversity in a way that respects people's differences. I have received communication and assertiveness and child protection training for this. In my spare time I like to play the double bass and cook.

Availability: Weekdays

Willing to travel: 5 miles

Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: Yes  Un-Verified
Has References: Yes
Will Tutor Online: No