My Information

Mrs. Kate Tutor


User Type: Tutor  Verified

Mrs. Kate

Member Since: 04/09/2014
Last Login: 04/09/2014
Location: Wantage, Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Post Code: OX12
Share twitter facebook facebook
Subjects Taught

Rates: £30.00 per hour

About Kate

I am a patient and encouraging teacher who enjoys teaching both children and adults. Professionally qualified and with over 10 year's teaching experience, I take a holistic approach, ensuring students not only learn to play their instrument, but develop as well rounded musicians too. ​ Lessons are tailored to individual needs and it is my philosophy that learning a musical instrument should be fun, but which is grounded by sound theoretical knowledge and understanding. I conduct all my private lessons in Wantage, Oxfordshire in my beautiful music studio which benefits from a Kawai grand piano and I currently have a limited amount of lesson slots available on all days of the week. There is no pressure for pupils to take exams if they do not wish, although performance in front of family, friends and at concerts I organise throughout the year is encouraged and encourage parents to take an active part in lessons so they may supervise practice during the week wherever possible. I am also a great advocate of group music making and regularly hold group workshops during school holidays, giving students the opportunity to experience ensemble work in the form of duets and trios.

Availability: Monday - Friday

Willing to travel: Home Only

Tutoring Experience:

Music is something that I have always been passionate about from a very early age and with the responsibility teaching brings in developing musical abilities of aspiring musicians, remain committed to personal development. As well as a BA Open (OU) degree, I hold the Dip ABRSM (Principles in Teaching) and CT ABRSM (Certificate of Teaching) and regularly attend music seminars and workshops throughout the year. I also perform regularly in a local folk band, enjoy composing my own material and also enjoy playing the violin in regular folk sessions, as well as classically. ​ I am a member of the European Piano Teachers' Association (EPTA) and Incorporated Society of Musicians (ISM) and am CRB checked.

Other Information
DBS (CRB) Check: Yes  Un-Verified
Has References: Yes
Will Tutor Online: Yes